The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Seven Top Healthcare IT Certifications



Healthcare IT certification can get you into a rewarding career.Epic certification is valued by employers that use Epic electronic health record (EHR) systems. Epic is one of the leading developers of EHR systems. Several hospitals and healthcare establishments use Epic systems. Epic-certified professionals are equipped to implement and run Epic software modules.


In order to certify, you need to train at the Epic headquarters in Verona, Wis., and be sponsored by a healthcare employer. Practical experience with at least one Epic project is required. Once you complete training, you will need to take a proficiency exam.


Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist (CHTS)


CHTS is sponsored by AHIMA and is available in six different competency areas: Clinician/Practitioner Consultant (CHTS-CP), Implementation Manager (CHTS-IM), Implementation Support Specialist (CHTS-IS), Practice Workflow & Information Management Redesign Specialist (CHTS-PW), Technical/Software Support Staff (CHTS-TS), and Trainer (CHTS-TR).


This certification validates a holder’s skill in implementing and handling EHR, including hardware and software selection, workflow assessment, and system installation and testing. CHTS aspirants need to clear a single certifying exam. Though applicants are not required to fulfil any prerequisites, AHIMA does recommend a minimum of six months of work experience or training.


Healthcare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPP)


HCISSP is administered by (ISC)². According to (ISC)², the certification is “unique because it combines information security skills with privacy best practices and techniques. No other certification addresses the foundational knowledge in healthcare security and privacy like the HCISPP.”


The certification validates knowledge of and experience in securing and maintaining confidentiality of protected patient health data and is suitable for IT and security managers, risk analysts, medical record administrators and others who work with health information.


To certify, candidates require at least two years of remunerated, full-time work experience in one or more of the six HCISPP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) domains. They must also pass an exam. The HCISPP certification is valid for three years.


A healthy outlook


Healthcare IT salaries vary according to role, with those in management positions earning the most. Whatever your experience level, achieving any of the above credentials will open the door to a career that is challenging and financially rewarding.



Reena Ghosh is an independent ghostwriter who writes promotional, developmental and explanatory content for individuals and businesses. She came to professional writing with work experience in financial services operations and corporate communication. Reena speaks three languages and hopes to learn Sanskrit.