The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Six New Cybersecurity Certs that Address Hotly Demanded Skills

Certified Chief Information Security Officer (CCISO)


CCISO concept woman leading discussionStrong information security programs require strong leaders and most organizations now have an executive-level information security position. This individual is typically named as the Chief Information Security Officer (CISO), Director of Information Security, or similar title and oversees the organization’s enterprise security efforts. Unsurprisingly, a specialized certification recently emerged for individuals seeking CISO positions.


The EC-Council, purveyors of the popular Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification, recently launched the Certified Chief Information Security Officer (CCISO) program for aspiring CISOs. This program includes coverage of five knowledge domains:


● Governance (Policy, Legal and Compliance)
● IS Management Controls and Auditing Management
● Management – Projects and Operations (Projects, Technology and Operations)
● Information Security Core Competencies
● Strategic Planning and Finance


These domains combine traditional information security knowledge with the management and leadership skills required to operate at an executive level. Candidates for this credential must not only pass an exam but also demonstrate that they have five years of experience in three or more of the domains. The exact experience requirements depend upon whether candidates wish to pursue self-study or participate in an official CCISO training program.


Payment Card Industry Professional (PCIP)


Credit card security became a hot topic over a decade ago with the release of the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) in 2004. Over the intervening years, a huge industry grew to support PCI DSS compliance efforts, including auditors, assessment tools, and an army of consultants who specialize in helping organizations interpret the security standard and apply it to their business environments with minimal disruption and expense.


In 2012, the PCI Security Standards Council launched the Payment Card Industry Professional (PCIP) program designed to help professionals demonstrate their mastery of the PCI DSS standard.


Earning the credential requires demonstrating at least two years of IT experience and passing a 90-minute computer-based exam containing 60 multiple-choice questions. One important note – once you are approved to take the exam, you must do so within 30 days, so don’t apply until you’re ready to take the test!


Certified Information Privacy Manager (CIPM)


Individuals expect that the organizations who handle their sensitive personal information will do so with the utmost respect for their privacy. Government agencies, financial institutions, healthcare organizations, educational institutions and a variety of other organizations all must build comprehensive privacy programs designed to fulfill the organization’s legal and ethical requirements to safeguard personal privacy.


The International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP) offers a number of certification programs designed to recognize qualified staff to implement these privacy programs. In 2013, the IAPP launched the Certified Information Privacy Manager (CIPM) certification program to recognize individuals qualified to lead privacy programs.


Earning the CIPM certification requires passing a 90-question multiple-choice exam by earning a scaled score of at least 300 out of 500 points.


Stay sharp


There’s no end in sight to the cat-and-mouse game between attackers and enterprise security specialists. Earning any one of these certifications is bound to make a job candidate stand out, especially when combined with relevant work experience and education. Think of these specialist certifications as a gold star that can embellish a resume and make it stand out from the pack!


  Mike Chapple

Mike Chapple is Senior Director for IT Service Delivery at the University of Notre Dame. Mike is CISSP certified and holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in computer science and engineering from Notre Dame, with a master’s degree in computer science from the University of Idaho and an MBA from Auburn University.