The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Linux Certification FAQ

How do I decide which Linux certification to earn?

If you are fairly new to Linux, look at LPIC Level 1 or Linux+. These are strong, basic credentials that will help you expand your Linux expertise and will add credibility to your resume. The exams are also more affordable than those for Red Hat certifications, and because they are available through testing networks, don't require as much travel. The Novell Certified Linux Administrator (CLA) is another option at this level.

For more advanced administrators, if you (or your employer) can afford it, give Red Hat's RHCE a serious look. Because it requires passing a hands-on exam, it gives the truest measure of your technical skill. Yes, it is distribution specific; however, much of what is true of Red Hat Linux is true of other version of Linux. Novell's Certified Linux Professional and Certified Linux Engineer designations are also options. If you are looking for a well-recognized Linux security certification, choose either the GIAC Certified UNIX System Administrator (GCUX) or Red Hat Certified Security Specialist (RHCSS).

Privacy Policy Update

We have updated our Privacy Policy to comply with the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA)