The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

 ISACA’s CISA Certification Wins Best Professional Certification Program 

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA (15 February 2017) — ISACA’s most longstanding certification, the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), was recognized as the Best Professional Certification Program in the SC Awards 2017 at the SC Awards Gala on Tuesday at the RSA Conference.


The CISA designation is a globally recognized certification for IS audit, control and security professionals. More than 129,000 professionals have earned CISA designation since the certification was established in 1978.


“Rarely recognized for their unseen work, IT security professionals are the unsung heroes of keeping things running smoothly,” said Illena Armstrong, VP, editorial, SC Media. “In a time where privacy and data protection are of utmost importance, we recognize ISACA and the CISA certification as a winner in the Professional Award category of the SC Awards for continued dedication to protecting today’s enterprise from the evolving threat landscape.”


The exam’s quality is ensured through a rigorous process that includes a practice analysis study and regular content reviews and updates by independent committees.


The five CISA job practice domains are:


  • Process of auditing information systems

  • Governance and management of IT

  • Information systems acquisition, development and implementation

  • Information systems operations, maintenance and service management

  • Protection of information assets


“The CISA credential is often a mandatory qualification for employment as an IS auditor,” said Frank Schettini, ISACA’s chief innovation officer. “As the business technology landscape rapidly evolves and creates new challenges, employers recognize that CISA-certified professionals have the knowledge and global credibility to deliver on rising expectations for audit, control and security professionals.”


In 2017, ISACA’s CISA, Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) and Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) certification exams will be offered in three testing windows of eight-week duration at computer-based testing centers worldwide.


Earlier this month, ISACA introduced the new CISA Online Review Course as a self-paced option for learners interested in preparing for the CISA exam.


CISM also was a finalist for this year’s top professional certification program. In 2016, SC Magazine named ISACA’s Cybersecurity Nexus Practitioner (CSXP) as its top professional certification program.


About the SC Awards

The SC Awards are recognized throughout the cybersecurity industry and are the crowning achievement for IT security professionals and products. Each year, hundreds of applications are reviewed and narrowed down to a select group of finalists that represent the best solutions and services and the professionals working around the clock to protect today’s businesses from an ever-changing landscape of security threats. For more information and a detailed list of categories, finalists and winners, please visit



ISACA ( helps professionals around the globe realize the positive potential of technology in an evolving digital world. By offering industry-leading knowledge, standards, credentialing and education, ISACA enables professionals to apply technology in ways that instill confidence, address threats, drive innovation and create positive momentum for their organizations. Established in 1969, ISACA is a global association with more than 140,000 members and certification holders in 187 countries. ISACA is the creator of the COBIT framework, which helps organizations effectively govern and manage their information and technology. Through its Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX), ISACA helps organizations develop skilled cyber workforces and enables individuals to grow and advance their cyber careers.