The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Certification Watch Volume 6 #21

Certification News regarding Cisco Qualified Specialist, medstore CompTIA IT Project+, Microsoft certification, and Nortel Networks.

Cisco Launches 5 New Specialist Certifications Cisco has added five new designations to its list of Cisco Qualified Specialist certifications. The new titles are: Cisco Access Routing and LAN Switching Specialist, Cisco IP Telephony Express Specialist, Cisco Network Management Specialist, Cisco Public Access Design Specialist, and Cisco Public Access Support Specialist. Each of these titles requires that you first hold another Cisco certification, plus pass one or more additional exams, detailed below. Keep in mind that passing a specialist exam automatically renews your associate level (CCNA/CCDA) certification.

Cisco Access Routing and LAN Switching Specialist

prerequisite: Valid CCNA or CCDA or CCDP or CCNP or CCIP or CCIE
2 required exams: Building Scalable Cisco Internetworks; Routing and Switching Exam

Cisco IP Telephony Express Specialist

prerequisite: Valid CCNA or CCNP or CCDA or CCDP or CCIE
3 required exams: Cisco Voice Over IP, Deploying QOS for Enterprise Networks, and Cisco Call Manager Express

Cisco Network Management Specialist

prerequisite: Valid CCNP or CCIE or CCIP
1 required exam: Implementing CiscoWorks for Enterprise LAN/WAN Management

Cisco Public Access Design Specialist

prerequisite: Valid CCDA or CCDP or CCIE
3 required exams: Aironet Wireless LAN, Cisco Long Reach Ethernet, and Cisco Building Broadband Service Manager 1.2

Cisco Public Access Support Specialist

prerequisite: Valid CCNA or CCNP or CCIE
2 required exams: Cisco Long Reach Ethernet, Cisco Building Broadband Service Manager 1.2

The full list of Cisco Qualified Specialist certifications can be found on the Cisco Web site.

Upgraded IT Project+ Exam Released November 10

A new version of CompTIA's the IT Project+ exam hit testing centers November 10th. The new version includes greater coverage of project management tools such as schedulers, spreadsheets, and databases. It also incorporates questions about getting people to make decisions in a timely manner. The previous version of this exam (the 2001 version) will continue to be available until December 31, 2003.

Archived Microsoft Certification Webcasts Available

If you missed the Microsoft Webcast about Windows Server 2003 certifications or the one introducing the new MCDST (Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician) title, you can view them online using the following links:

Nortel Networks releases New Maintenance Support Specialist Certification

The new Nortel Networks Certified Support Specialist (NNCSS) - Meridian SL-100 Maintenance certification covers Meridian SL-100 with software release MSL 17 and requires the successful completion of one exam, Meridian SL-100 Maintenance (#920-110).

The exam covers SL-100/Meridian 1 interworking, the maintenance user interface, general maintenance, software tools, troubleshooting, and recovery. You should have 3-6 months related work experience prior to challenging this exam. Exam objectives and recommended training are detailed on the Nortel Networks web site.

That's all for this edition of Certification Watch. Please keep your certification news and tips coming to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..