The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Certification Watch Volume 7 #10

Certification news regarding Red Hat's new RHCA title, MySQL certification, retired Microsoft certifications, The TRAIN Act, and Legato certification.

Red Hat to Add Architect Certification

Red Hat Software, vendor of the esteemed Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) designation, has announced plans for a new Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA) designation. This new title, which Red Hat calls "a capstone certification to Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) and Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT)," aligns the Red Hat certification program with the three-tiered structure currently utilized by many IT certification programs.

The RHCA exam will be a hands-on lab exam, like Red Hat's other exams. Dates and locations will be announced later this year. A corresponding curriculum is available, and consists of consists of four advanced 400-level Enterprise Architect courses and an upper-level security course. Information on the RHCA courses can be found on GoCertify page for Red Hat certification.

Professional Level MySQL Exam Available

The exam for MySQL Professional Certification was recently released by MySQL AB. The second of a two-tier MySQL Certification program, this one exam certification is for users who have already passed the MySQL Core Certification exam. The professional level exam covers the following topics: MySQL Architecture; MySQL Installation and Configuration; Security Issues; Optimizing for Query Speed; MyISAM Tables; InnoDB Tables; and Advanced Server Features such as tuning and replication. The exam costs $200 and is administered through VUE testing centers. For more on MySQL certification see GoCertify's MySQL page.

Cisco Adds New Storage Certifications

Earlier this month Cisco Systems launched two new specialty certifications covering networking storage. The new designations, part of the Cisco Qualified Specialist line, are Cisco Storage Networking Design Specialist and Cisco Storage Networking Support Specialist. The certifications focus on Cisco MDS 9000 Series Multilayer Directors and Switches, Cisco MDS 9509 Director Switch, Cisco 9216 Fabric Switch, and Cisco MDS 9120 products.

For the Support title you must first hold CCNA certification. For the Design Specialist you can hold either CCNA or CCDA certification. Each of the new storage specialist titles requires passing one additional exam. Further details are available through Cisco's Web site.

Microsoft Retires 11 Exams, Releases Two New Security Exams

Eleven Microsoft certification exams retired on June 30, as scheduled. The retirement list includes:

  • Exam 70-015: Designing and Implementing Distributed Applications with Microsoft Visual C++® 6.0
  • Exam 70-016: Designing and Implementing Desktop Applications with Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0
  • Exam 70-019: Designing and Implementing Data Warehouses With Microsoft SQL Server™ 7.0
  • Exam 70-028: Administering Microsoft SQL Server 7.0
  • Exam 70-029: Designing and Implementing Databases with Microsoft SQL Server 7.0
  • Exam 70-100: Analyzing Requirements and Defining Solution Architectures
  • Exam 70-152: Designing and Implementing Web Solutions with Microsoft Visual InterDev® 6.0
  • Exam 70-155: Designing and Implementing Distributed Applications with Microsoft Visual FoxPro® 6.0
  • Exam 70-156: Designing and Implementing Desktop Applications with Microsoft Visual FoxPro 6.0
  • Exam 70-175: Designing and Implementing Distributed Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic® 6.0
  • Exam 70-176: Designing and Implementing Desktop Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0
Individuals who passed one or more of the retired exams as part of their certification path remain certified. There are no requirements or additional exams that must be passed to retain certification.

In other Microsoft news, Microsoft recently released two new security exams that count as electives toward both the MCAD and MCSD for Microsoft .NET certification. The new exams are: Exam 70-330: Implementing Security for Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and Exam 70-340: Implementing Security for Applications with Microsoft Visual C# .NET. Full objectives are available on Microsoft's Web site.

New US Training Legislation May Provide Tax Credit for IT Training

Congressmen Jerry Weller (R-IL) and 8 co-sponsors have introduced a bill dubbed The TRAIN Act to the US House of Representatives. TRAIN is an acronym for Technology Retraining And Investment Now. The act (H.R. 4392) proposes a tax credit of up to $5,000 for qualified information and communications training, and was introduced to the US House on May 19, 12004. The proposed credit could be used by both employed and unemployed workers as well as employers, and would apply to a broad range of training programs.

The primary goal of this legislation appears to be to facilitate the training to aide US workers in obtaining the skills to fill jobs that may otherwise go overseas. Full text of the resolution and its current status can be found online through the Thomas System.

Legato Releases New LCNA Exam

Legato Systems recently released a new version of the Legato Certified NetWorker Administrator (LCNA) exam. The new exam costs $200. A study guide can be found on Legato's Web site.

That's all for this edition of Certification Watch. Please keep your certification news and tips coming to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..