The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Certification Watch Volume 11 #9

Certification news regarding Mac Snow Leopard certification, viagra coupon a new designation from PMI along with recertification changes, Cisco certification changes and additions, Lotus ND8 exams, and a need for ISACA exam item writers.

Mac OS X Snow Leopard Certification Plans Announced

Along with the recent announcement that Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard is scheduled to ship in about a year, initial information on the corresponding new certification requirements has been released. Basically, the program will retain the same structure but have updated exams. The exam prices will remain the same at $200 each as well. OS X 10.5 exams will continue to be available and have no planned retirement date. GoCertify will bring you further news as it becomes available.

PMI Risk Management Professional Launched

The Project Management Institute (PMI), vendor of the successful Project Management Professional (PMP) certification, is in the pilot phase of a new credential for risk management professionals. The PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP) certification is for individuals who are charged with assessing and identifying project risks and preparing plans to mitigate them.

To qualify to sit for the PMI-RMP exam, you must first meet an experience requirement of 3000 to 4500 hours, depending on your educational background, as well as provide evidence of formal project risk management education. The exam contains 150 scored questions and has a 3.5 hour time limit. Topics covered include risk communication, risk analysis, risk response planning, and risk governance. The exam fee is $670 or €555 for nonmembers of PMI. Member pricing is $520 or €430. The certification handbook can be read on the PMI website (PDF).

If you are the pioneering type, be one of the first 100 people to take the exam and receive a 50% refund of your exam price and be entered in a drawing for $1,000. You must take the exam by October 31, 2008, to be eligible for this offer.

PMI Changes PMP Recertification Dates

In other PMI news, plans have been made to modify the PMP certification renewal cycle so that they aren't hit with a crush of renewals all at once every December 31st. Under the new plan, certifications will still have to be renewed every 3 years, but instead of a date of December 31 for everyone, renewal will be due on the 3rd anniversary of the actual date the designation was earned. This change will start to role out next month. PMI promises no one will have their renewal cycle shortened as a result of this changeover but instead will get a few month extension if needed to avoid cutting you short. See the PMI announcement for renewal scenarios.

Cisco Certification Changes and Additions

Cisco recently added two designations to its Data Center Specialist group of certifications: Cisco Data Center Application Services Design Specialist and Cisco Data Center Application Services Support Specialist. The support certification has CCNA certification as a prerequisite while the design option requires CCDA certification first. Each requires an additional corresponding Data Center Application Services exam.

There are some changes in the works for Cisco VPN and security certifications as well. A new Cisco ASA Specialist designation will become available on August 29, 2008. This will be for individuals who configure, verify, and manage the ASA products and the Adaptive Security Device Manager (ASDM). It has the new CCNA Security designation as a prerequisite and requires two additional exams: Securing Networks with ASA Foundation and Securing Networks with ASA advanced. You can find the full description on Cisco's web site. Additionally, Cisco's Firewall Specialist designation will be retiring on November 17, 2008.

Lotus Notes Domino 8 Exam News from IBM

IBM has recently announced the availability of several new IBM Lotus Notes Domino 8 (ND8) application development exams for Web Services (exam 805), Javascript (exam 804), and LotusScript (exam 803). Additionally, the ND7 upgrade exams for application developers and system administrators will be discontinued as of December 31, 2008.

ISACA Seeks Exam Item Writers

ISACA is seeking industry experts to become item writers for future certification exams and review materials in order to keep exam content current and fresh. To become an item writer, you must complete the online application. Development guides and item writing webcasts are available to familiarize potential item writers with the question style. Additional details can be found on the ISACA web site.

That's all for this edition of Certification Watch. Please keep your certification news and tips coming to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..