The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

25 Congressional Members Selected for the TechAmerica Congressional Tech Leader Award

Leadership in Tech Policy Recognized in Conjunction with Annual Technology & Government Dinner

Washington, D.C., June 5, 2014TechAmerica, the public sector and public advocacy department of CompTIA, announced this morning that 25 Members of the House and Senate have been selected to receive the TechAmerica Congressional Tech Leader Award in honor of their leadership on technology policy. The awards will be presented in conjunction with TechAmerica Foundation's Technology & Government Dinner next week.

“In an era where stakeholders from the government and industry need to work together to share and exchange information to keep America’s tech sector one of the strongest in the world, these 25 Representatives and Senators continue to go above and beyond,” said CompTIA President and CEO Todd Thibodeaux. “It is an honor and privilege to bestow this award on each and every one of them.”

The TechAmerica Congressional Tech Leader Award recognizes a select group of legislators for their overall commitment to promoting technology-friendly policy. Whether it’s championing increased cybersecurity protection or advocating for R&D tax credits to keep America business-friendly, each recipient has shown great dedication to strengthen America’s tech sector.

For instance, this year’s recipients include Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI) and Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), chair and vice chairs of the House’s Energy & Commerce Committee which has been responsible for promoting many of Congress’ tech-related initiatives. Sen. Kirstin Gillibrand (D-NY), another recipient, has been a pivotal voice in developing new sustainable technologies for energy independence, as well as promoting STEM education at all levels of education to help students compete in the high-tech economy.

Held in the Ronald Reagan Building, the Technology & Government Dinner brings together industry, Congressional and government leaders to celebrate the partnership between the tech sector and government. The dinner also will honor Dr. J.P. London, CACI executive chairman and chairman of the board, with the Corporate Leadership Award, and U.S. CIO Steven VanRoekel as the Government Technology Executive of the Year.  

This year’s recipients are:

House of Representatives
•    Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
•    Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA)
•    Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)
•    Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL)
•    Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)
•    Rep. Gerry Connolly (D-VA)
•    Rep. Mike Rogers (R-MI)
•    Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
•    Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
•    Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)
•    Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
•    Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
•    Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
•    Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA)
•    Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
•    Rep. Pat Meehan (R-PA)
•    Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
•    Rep. Renee Ellmers (R-NC)
•    Rep. John Kline (R-MN)
•    Rep. Suzanne DelBene (D-WA)

•    Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
•    Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)
•    Sen. Pat Leahy (D-VT)
•    Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
•    Sen Kirstin Gillibrand (D-NY)

For more information on becoming a sponsor or to purchase a table for the dinner, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. To register for the dinner, go to:

About TechAmerica
TechAmerica is the public sector and public policy department of CompTIA, advocating before decision-makers at the state, federal and international levels of government. Representing technology companies of all sizes, TechAmerica is committed to expanding market opportunities and driving the competitiveness of the U.S. technology industry around the world. With offices on Capitol Hill and in Northern Virginia, Silicon Valley and Europe, as well as regional offices around the U.S., we deliver our members top-tier business intelligence and networking opportunities on a global scale. Learn more about TechAmerica at or follow us on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn. Learn more about CompTIA, the ICT industry trade association, at