The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

BCS ECDL qualification listed in performance tables for 2018

18 December 2015 The Department for Education (DfE) has confirmed that the Level 2 ECDL Certificate in IT Application Skills (QCF) from BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT will be eligible for performance points in 2018. The qualification, which has been designed specifically for schools, features in the published list of qualifications that will count in the Key Stage 4 Performance Tables in 2018.


For pupils finishing Key Stage 4 in 2018 it means that they will gain full recognition for their efforts, with up to 58 performance points awarded for the highest-achieving students (Distinction* 58 points, Distinction 52 points, Merit 46 points, and Pass 40 points).


Jon Buttriss, CEO of BCS Learning & Development Ltd, part of the Institute says: “We’re delighted that ECDL continues to be included in the Department for Education’s performance points listing.”


The GCSE equivalent qualification has been embraced by schools across England who are using it to help them deliver the digital literacy element of the new Computing curriculum.


Jon adds: “The allocation of performance points reinforces the message that these qualifications are not only rigorous but they also provide students with greater options for study and employment. This also supports our purpose to educate people to help them thrive in today’s digital society.”


Further information can be found at:


*Statistics published by Ofqual


BCS Level 2 Certificate in IT Application Skills provides students with the skills needed to improve productivity using tools to help save time and effort when producing word-processed documents, presentations and spreadsheets.