The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

5,000th Professional Earns ISACA's CRISC Certification; First Exam Offered in June

Grandfathering Program Open Until 31 March 2011 

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA —Ten months into the rigorous grandfathering program for the new Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) credential,  the 5,000th candidate has earned the CRISC certification from ISACA. 

The limited-time grandfathering program enables highly experienced professionals to apply for the CRISC credential without taking the CRISC exam by exhibiting additional years of related experience. ISACA, a nonprofit association of more than 95,000 IT professionals worldwide, requires applicants to prove at least eight years of IT or business experience, with six years of cumulative experience in the five CRISC (pronounced “see risk”) domain areas and three years of cumulative experience in the risk-related domains: 

  • Risk identification, assessment and evaluation
  • Risk response
  • Risk monitoring
  • IS control design and implementation
  • IS control monitoring and maintenance 

Qualified candidates can apply for the CRISC certification through ISACA’s grandfathering program until 31 March 2011. The CRISC credential helps meet the need for professionals to demonstrate their proven ability to design, implement, monitor and maintain effective risk-based information systems controls. 

The first CRISC exam will be administered on 11 June 2011. For additional information, visit The grandfathering application is available at

 “Though it’s less than a year old, CRISC is already a globally respected and recognized certification because it demonstrates an ability to effectively manage IT-related business risk—a skill that is critical to the success of an organization,” said Urs Fischer, CISA, CRISC, chair of ISACA’s CRISC Certification Committee.

 ISACA also administers the following three certifications, which are globally recognized by many industries, government entities and professionals:

  • Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), earned by 80,000 professionals since 1978
  • Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), earned by 15,000 professionals since 2002
  • Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT), earned by more than 4,500 professionals since 2007 

Additional information about ISACA certifications is available at   


With 95,000 constituents in 160 countries, ISACA ( is a leading global provider of knowledge, certifications, community, advocacy and education on information systems (IS) assurance and security, enterprise governance and management of IT, and IT-related risk and compliance. Founded in 1969, the nonprofit, independent ISACA hosts international conferences, publishes the ISACA Journal, and develops international IS auditing and control standards, which help its constituents ensure trust in, and value from, information systems. It also advances and attests IT skills and knowledge through the globally respected Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) and Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) designations.   ISACA continually updates COBIT, which helps IT professionals and enterprise leaders fulfill their IT governance and management responsibilities, particularly in the areas of assurance, security, risk and control, and deliver value to the business.