The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

ISACA Certifies 5,000th CGEIT

Certification’s Growth Reflects Demand for Experienced IT Governance Professionals

Rolling Meadows, IL, USA —According to a recent global survey of more than 3,700 IT professionals who are members of ISACA, half (52%) report their enterprises do not have enough IT staff and 44% are planning to increase their IT-related investments in the next 12 months. Reflective of the increasing demand for experienced IT professionals, particularly in the governance area, ISACA recently awarded the 5,000th Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) certification. The first CGEIT exam was administered in December 2008.

“I decided to pursue the CGEIT certification for two reasons:  to validate my knowledge and expertise in IT governance, and to propel my career in a new and exciting path. I am happy to say I have accomplished both objectives,” said Bafana Nkosi, the 5,000th person to earn the CGEIT credential, who is currently on the task team charged with developing IT governance implementation guidelines for government departments in South Africa. “Since obtaining CGEIT, I have been engaging with others more confidently as an expert in the field. I know that the CGEIT designation will give me the edge in my future endeavors.”

ISACA is a nonprofit association of more than 95,000 IT professionals worldwide. After extensive research, the association established the CGEIT certification to recognize those who have the professional knowledge, skills and business experience to maximize IT’s contribution to an enterprise’s success, and manage and mitigate risks posed by IT. The certification defines the roles and responsibilities of the professionals performing work to enhance the governance of enterprise IT (GEIT).

“The demand for experience in the area of GEIT is growing, fuelled by professionals who want to demonstrate a visible commitment to excellence in IT governance practices,” said Allan Boardman, CISA, CISM, CGEIT, CRISC, CA (SA), ACA, CISSP, chair of ISACA’s Credentialing Board, and a risk officer at a global financial services firm. “The CGEIT certification proves IT governance-related knowledge, competencies, skill sets, abilities and experiences, and demonstrates the trust and value CGEIT certification-holders can contribute to their employers.”

The CGEIT certification helps support growing business demands related to IT governance and increase the awareness and importance of GEIT good practices and issues by focusing on:

  • IT governance frameworks such as COBIT 5
  • Strategic alignment
  • Value delivery
  • Risk management
  • Resource management
  • Performance measurement

To earn the CGEIT designation, candidates must pass a rigorous exam, prove at least five years of related experience and adhere to ISACA’s Code of Professional Ethics. ISACA’s certification exams are held each year in June and December. Additional information and an exam registration form are available at

ISACA also administers the following three certifications:

  • Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), earned by more than 92,000 professionals since 1978
  • Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), earned by more than 18,500 professionals since 2002
  • Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC), earned by more than 16,000 professionals since 2010

Additional information about ISACA certifications is available at The survey, titled Governance of Enterprise IT: Issues and Challenges, was conducted by ISACA in March 2012.


With 95,000 constituents in 160 countries, ISACA® is a leading global provider of knowledge, certifications, community, advocacy, and education on information systems (IS) assurance and security, enterprise governance and management of IT, and IT-related risk and compliance. Founded in 1969, the nonprofit, independent ISACA hosts international conferences, publishes the ISACA® Journal, and develops international IS auditing and control standards, which help its constituents ensure trust in, and value from, information systems. It also advances and attests IT skills and knowledge through the globally respected Certified Information Systems Auditor® (CISA®), Certified Information Security Manager® (CISM®), Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT® (CGEIT®) and Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control™ (CRISC™) designations. ISACA continually updates COBIT®, which helps IT professionals and enterprise leaders fulfill their IT governance and management responsibilities, particularly in the areas of assurance, security, risk and control, and deliver value to the business.