The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

(ISC)²® Announces 2015 U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Award Finalists

Clearwater, FL., U.S.A., April 27, 2015 (ISC)²® (“ISC-squared”), the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information and software security professionals with nearly 110,000 members worldwide, today announced the finalists for its 12th annual U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards (GISLA®) program.


Sponsored by the (ISC)² U.S. Government Advisory Council (USGAC), the GISLA program was established in 2004 to recognize federal information security leaders (individuals or teams) whose commitment to excellence is advancing the nation’s cybersecurity program in five areas: workforce, technology, process/policy, community awareness, and the contractor community. Additionally, a new category was added to the 2015 GISLA program that is dedicated to recognizing the next up-and-coming information security professional.


U.S. Department of Transportation Chief Technology Officer and GISLA Keynote, Maria Roat, will join government and industry VIPs and (ISC)² officials to honor the 2015 GISLA recipients on May 14, 2015, at the Washington Marriott at Metro Center in Washington D.C.


“This year’s GISLA finalists demonstrate a true passion for the profession and for the enormous task at hand,” said Dan Waddell, CISSP, CAP, PMP, (ISC)² director of U.S. government affairs and co-chair of the (ISC)² USGAC. “In the face of the government’s workforce shortage and numerous other complexities, they stand dedicated to their field and mission and inspire other information security professionals in the federal government to do the same.”


Each year, a judging committee of senior information security experts from the (ISC)² USGAC and industry reviews the nominees and recommends finalists based upon selection criteria and eligibility requirements.


The 2015 GISLA finalists are as follows:


Category: Technology Improvement

• John Simms, CISSP, ITIL 3.0, MCSE, PMP, requirements and acquisition support branch chief and Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation (CDM) program manager, Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Office of Cybersecurity and Communications

Initiative: Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation (CDM) Program

• Preston Werntz, senior strategist for analysis & operations, DHS National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (NCCIC), Technology Services Section

Initiative: Trusted Automated Exchange of Indicator Information (TAXII) Server Program


Category: Community Awareness

• The Industrial Control Systems Cyber Emergency Response Team (ICS-CERT)

Initiative: ICS-CERT Action Campaign

• 81 Cyber Protection Team

Initiative: Cyber National Mission Force


Category: Workforce Improvement

• Michael C. Redman, CISSP, CISM, CCNA, CompTIA Network+, CompTIA Security+, CompTIA A+, CompTIA Linux+, MCP, MCSA, senior information assurance manager and chief, Policy and Accreditation Branch

Initiative: Department of Defense Cybersecurity Course Development and Mentoring Program


Category: Up-and-Coming Information Security Professional

• Technical Sergeant Kendra M. Bryan, noncommissioned officer in charge of the Vulnerability Management Cell for the 50th Space Communications Squadron, Schriever Air Force Base (AFB), Colorado

Initiative: Development and Implementation of Tactics, Techniques and Procedures (TTPs) to Secure Classified and Unclassified Networks


• Samuel A. Maroon, IT operations instructor, U.S. State Department

Initiative: Wounded Warrior Cyber Combat Academy Project


Category: Most Valuable Industry Partner (MVIP)

• Network and Space Operations and Maintenance (NSOM) Team led by Mike Leshinsky, team lead and technical advisor, NSOM operations manager, Schriever AFB

Initiative: Advancing the Security Posture of Schriever AFB Networks and Readiness Posture of the 50th Space Wing

• CERT Coordinating Center (CERT/CC) Vulnerability Research and Coordination team, Carnegie Mellon University Software Engineering Institute 

Initiative: Implementation of CERT/CC’s Responsible Coordinated Disclosure Strategy


Category: Process/Policy Improvement

• Matthew Goodrich, director for the Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP), Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies, GSA

Initiative: FedRAMP Program Leadership

• Benjamin Bergersen, cloud cybersecurity program manager, Shared Services, U.S. Department of Education

Initiative: Cyber Security Risk Management Process Improvement


About (ISC)²®

Formed in 1989, (ISC)² is the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information and software security professionals worldwide, with nearly 110,000 members in more than 160 countries. Globally recognized as the Gold Standard, (ISC)² issues the Certified Authorization Professional (CAP®), Certified Cyber Forensics Professional (CCFP®), Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSPSM), Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP®) and related concentrations, Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP®), HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPPSM) and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP®) credentials to qualifying candidates. (ISC)²’s certifications are among the first information technology credentials to meet the stringent requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024, a global benchmark for assessing and certifying personnel. (ISC)² also offers education programs and services based on its CBK®, a compendium of information and software security topics. More information is available at


© 2015, (ISC)² Inc., (ISC)², CAP, CCFP, CISSP, CSSLP, SSCP and CBK are registered marks, and CCSP and HCISPP are service marks, of (ISC)², Inc.



View PDF version. 


Media Contact:

Courtney Jewell Beveridge
Extension Group
(703) 618-8205
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.