The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

(ISC)²® Announces Finalists for its Fourth Annual Americas Information Security Leadership Awards

ISLA® Program Recognizes Innovative Workforce Improvements Across Central, North, and South America 

    Clearwater, FL., U.S.A., September 4, 2014 — (ISC)²® (“ISC-squared”), the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information and software security professionals with over 100,000 members worldwide, today announced the finalists for its fourth annual Americas Information Security Leadership Awards (ISLA) Program. With the success of the Americas ISLA program over the past three years, (ISC)² is pleased once again to celebrate the accomplishments of private and public sector industry leaders outside of U.S. federal government throughout the Americas who are inspiring change within the information security workforce. Recipients will be announced during the fourth annual (ISC)² Security Congress on the evening of October 1. 

Part of (ISC)²’s Global Awards Program, Americas ISLA aims to recognize the achievements of outstanding information security professionals who have led an industry workforce improvement initiative, program or project. The program recognizes professionals who are leading initiatives that result in a more proficient, resilient information security workforce in Central, North, and South America. The recognition categories include: Information Security Practitioner, Senior Information Security Professional, and Up-and-Coming Information Security Professional. (ISC)² will also recognize a Community Service Star for spreading information security awareness throughout their community. 

"Our awards program provides a unique platform to showcase the information security leaders across the globe who are dedicated to advancing the industry and inspiring the next generation of cybersecurity professionals,” said W. Hord Tipton, CISSP, executive director of (ISC)². “We congratulate this year’s deserving finalists and applaud their efforts to bolster the cybersecurity workforce of today and tomorrow." 

The 2014 Americas ISLA finalists are as follows: 

Information Security Practitioner 

Individual Finalists: 

• Nanditha Rao, global information security officer, CSC, Project: Global Citizen Services 
• James White, manager of Compliance & Communications, Laclede Gas, Project: CyberSecurity Modernization Program 

Senior Information Security Professional Category 

Individual Finalists: 

• Lisa Foremann-Jiggetts, president & CEO, Women’s Cyber Jutsu, Project: Women’s Cyber Jutsu 
• Mario Chiock, Cyber Security executive, Next Generations, Schlumberger, Project: Data Centric Security 
• Jamie Rees, director and CISO, Government of New Brunswick, Project: Security Event Management 
• Tim Virtue, CISO, Texas NICUSA, Project: Texas NICUSA’s CISO Take Agile Approach 

Up-and-Coming Information Security Professional Category

Individual Finalists: 

• Candice Moschell, manager, Crowe Horwath, LLP, Project: HIPAA Security Risk Assessment 
• Nathan McBride, co-founder,, Project: IOC Bucket 

A judging committee of 11 members of the (ISC)² North American and Latin American Advisory Boards evaluated the nominees and selected the finalists based upon specific criteria and eligibility requirements. (ISC)² officials will honor the Americas ISLA recipients on Wednesday, October 1, 2014 during a gala dinner and ceremony in Atlanta, Ga. at the Hard Rock Café. 

For more information on the Americas ISLA program, please visit