The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

(ISC)² Opens Nominations for Fourth Annual Americas Information Security Leadership Awards

ISLA Program Recognizes Industry Workforce Improvements of Leaders and Professionals from Central, North, and South America

Clearwater, FL., U.S.A., June 30, 2014 (ISC)²® (“ISC-squared”), the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information and software security professionals with over 100,000 members worldwide, today announced it is now accepting nominations for its fourth annual Americas Information Security Leadership Awards (ISLA) Program. To nominate an information security professional, please visit and select ‘Nomination form.’

Part of the (ISC)² Global Awards Program, the Americas ISLAs recognize information security workforce improvements, projects, and initiatives throughout the private and public sectors in Central, North, and South America, with the exception of U.S. federal government, in the following categories:

• Senior Information Security Professional
• Managerial Professional for an Information Security Project
• Information Security Practitioner
• Up-and-Coming Information Security Professional

“With CEOs and other C-level executives losing their jobs following security breaches, our industry has moved further into the spotlight,” said W. Hord Tipton, CISSP, executive director of (ISC)². “This attention underscores the need for more qualified information security professionals, and we believe it’s essential to recognize the leaders who are building a workforce of defenders to protect organizations from the growing threats in cyber space. Appreciation for dedicated people protecting our systems often is lacking until a serious breach occurs. We recognize people who often labor unnoticed in the business environment because they continue to take innovative approaches to security to avoid breaches. ”

The Americas ISLA Judging Committee will be comprised of members of (ISC)²’s North American and Latin American Advisory Boards. Each member of the Committee will review the nominations, and the collective judges will select one recipient from each category based upon the selection criteria and eligibility requirements.

Nominations for the Americas ISLA program will be accepted through midnight EDT on July 25th. (ISC)² will host a gala dinner in conjunction with its fourth annual Security Congress to announce and honor the recipients on October 1st, 2014 at The Hard Rock Café in Atlanta, Georgia.

For more information on the Americas ISLA Program including eligibility requirements, please visit:

# # #

About (ISC)²®
Formed in 1989 and celebrating its 25th anniversary, (ISC)² is the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified information and software security professionals worldwide, with over 100,000 members in more than 135 countries. Globally recognized as the Gold Standard, (ISC)² issues the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP®) and related concentrations, as well as the Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP®), the Certified Cyber Forensics Professional (CCFPSM), Certified Authorization Professional (CAP®), HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPPSM), and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP®) credentials to qualifying candidates. (ISC)²’s certifications are among the first information technology credentials to meet the stringent requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024, a global benchmark for assessing and certifying personnel. (ISC)² also offers education programs and services based on its CBK®, a compendium of information and software security topics. More information is available at