The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

(ISC)2 Opens Nominations for Ninth Annual U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards

PALM HARBOR, Fla., U.S.A. – (ISC)2 (“ISC-squared”), the world’s largest information security professional body and administrators of the CISSP®, today announced that it is now accepting nominations for its 2012 U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards (GISLA).

The GISLA program, which is sponsored by the (ISC)2 U.S. Government Advisory Board (GAB), was established in 2004 as part of (ISC)2’s effort to recognize those federal information security leaders whose example and efforts are helping to build a more secure federal IT infrastructure and a highly qualified and ethical information security workforce. Awards are given in several categories to recognize individuals and teams whose initiatives in the areas of technology improvement, process/policy improvement, workforce improvement, federal contractor or community awareness have led to significant improvements in the security posture of a department, agency or the entire federal government.

“The GISLAs provide a way to honor and showcase those on the information security frontlines who are thinking outside of the box and inspiring those around them to innovate and use new tools and strategies to effectively combat the always changing cyber threats that exist against government assets and resources,” said W. Hord Tipton, CISSP-ISSEP, CAP, CISA, executive director of (ISC)2 and former CIO for the U.S. Department of the Interior. “This year, we look forward to recognizing a new group of federal information security professionals whose often unheralded achievements are making a difference for their agencies—and for the American people.”

A nominations committee comprised of twelve senior information security experts from government and industry will review and select winners from the five categories of finalists based upon the selection criteria and eligibility requirements. The 2012 GISLA judges are:

  • Devon Bryan, CISSP, CISA, CIPP/US, senior director of the Client Security Management Office, ADP Global Security Organization
  • Peter Gouldmann, CISSP, state project manager, vice deputy project manager, Bureau of Information Resource Management, Office of Information Assurance, U.S. Department of State
  • Mary S. Heard, CISSP, CISM, CISA, deputy director of innovation and operational architecture, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Steven Hernandez, chief information security officer, Office of Inspector General, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Patrick J. Kelly (PJ), Associate of (ISC)² for CISSP,Scholarship for Service (Cyber Corps) Program Graduate
  • Ray A. Letteer, CISSP, NSA-IAM, ITIL, chief, Cybersecurity Division of the Command, Control, Communications, and Computer (C4) Department at Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Charles “Chuck” McGann, CISSP, CISM, IAM, corporate information security officer, U.S. Postal Service
  • Marc H. Noble, CISSP-ISSAP, director of government affairs for (ISC)2
  • Leo F. Scanlon, CISSP, director of IT security staff, National Archives and Records Administration
  • Robert “Rocky” E. Young, CISSP-ISSAP, ISSMP,director of Cybersecurity, Information Assurance, Outreach (CIAO) and Mobile Security Division, Defense-Wide Information Assurance Program (DIAP), Identity and Information Assurance Directorate (IIA)-DoD Chief Information Officer, Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Dara Gordon Murray, CISSP, director of IT security for the program support center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
  • Art Friedman, CISSP, senior strategist for the Enterprise Engineering Office, National Security Agency

(ISC)2 officials, sponsors, and others will honor the 2012 GISLA recipients at a gala dinner and awards ceremony on October 16, 2012, in the Washington D.C. metro area. To nominate a candidate for a GISLA, please create a login account and submit your nomination form at The submission deadline for nominations is July 20, 2012.