The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Nominations Open for Women in Open Source Awards

RALEIGH, N.C. —  —

Red Hat, Inc. (NYSE: RHT), the world's leading provider of open source solutions, today announced nominations are open for the first annual Women in Open Source Awards, which will be presented during Red Hat Summit 2015, June 23-26, 2015, in Boston.

“Women represent a small but growing force in open source. As the leading provider of open source solutions, Red Hat sponsors many outreach efforts to promote diversity of thought and bring more women into open source communities. This award complements those efforts by celebrating the contributions that women make and inspiring the next generation of women to get involved.”


The Women in Open Source Awards will shine a spotlight on women who make important contributions to open source projects, open source communities, or through the use of open source methodology. The awards are open to anyone who currently identifies as a woman. Nominations will be accepted through Nov. 21, 2014.


Tracks for the Women in Open Source Awards include:

  • Academic: Recognizing an open source contributor who is a full-time student currently enrolled in a college or university.
  • Community: Recognizing an open source contributor who works or volunteers on projects related to open source.


With the Academic Award, Red Hat hopes to inspire students to get involved in open source and help build awareness around technology careers beyond software development.


Award packages

The Women in Open Source Academic Award winner will receive:


The Women in Open Source Community Award winner will receive:

  • Registration, flight, and hotel accommodations for Red Hat Summit 2015.
  • $2,500 stipend.
  • Feature article on
  • Speaking opportunity at a future Red Hat Women's Leadership Community event.


Nomination details

Women may be nominated for many different types of open source contributions, including:


  • Code and programming.
  • Quality assurance, bug triage, and other quality-related contributions.
  • Involvement in open hardware.
  • System administration and infrastructure contributions.
  • Design, artwork, user-experience (UX), and marketing.
  • Documentation, tutorials, and other forms of communication.
  • Translation and other internationalization contributions.
  • Open content.
  • Community advocacy and management.
  • Intellectual property advocacy and legal reform.
  • Open source methodology.


Nominees will be narrowed down to a set of finalists for both the Academic and Community awards based on nomination criteria. The public will then vote to determine the winners from among the finalists selected. Winners will be announced in June during an awards ceremony at the 2015 Red Hat Summit.


Red Hat associates will not be eligible for the award, but are encouraged to nominate others.