The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Six Hot Cloud Computing Certifications for 2019

These six cloud certs can get your career soaring in 2019.VMware Certified Professional 7: Cloud Management and Automation VCP7 – CMA


The VCP7 – CMA certification validates the expertise required to set up, manage, and optimize a VMware vRealize environment so as to automate crucial procedures at a data center to repeat and scale.


If you haven’t earned any VCP certifications yet, then you must gain the requisite vSphere 6.x and vRealize experience, complete one of the training courses mentioned on the VCP7 – CMA web page, and pass one of the Foundation exams in addition to passing the 110-minute, 85-question 2VO-731 exam with a passing score of 300. Those who hold a valid VCP credential will successfully recertify that by passing the VCP7 – CMA exam.


VMware recommends the VMware vRealize Automation: Install, Configure, Manage [7.0] and VMware Cloud Automation: Design and Deploy [V7.1] courses.


Links to the exam guide, practice exam, additional resources, VMware Learning Zone, VCP community, and the VMware Certification Marketplace are available online.


Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)


The CCSP is currently the global standard on cloud security capability. This vendor-neutral credential is managed by Cloud Security Alliance and (ISC)². It validates advanced expertise and skills to secure sensitive data, applications and infrastructure in the cloud using know-how from the (ISC)² Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) and industry best practices.


The CCSP is suitable for IT and information security professionals who aim to develop deep knowledge and ability in cloud security design, operations and architecture. You need to pass the four-hour, 125-question, multiple-choice exam with a score of at least 700 out of 1000 to earn the CCSP. The exam tests knowledge of six domains of cloud security. It is proctored by Pearson VUE.


To earn the CCSP, you also need to have five years of paid IT work experience, three years of which should be in information security, and one year in at least one of the six domains of the CCSP (ISC)² CBK. If you lack this experience, you can pass the exam and become an Associate of (ISC)² while you gain experience. You must also agree to the (ISC)² Code of Ethics and complete endorsement requirements.


Self-study materials include the Official (ISC)² Guide to the CCSP CBK Textbook, the Official (ISC)² CCSP Study Guide, exam outline, the Official CCSP Study App and interactive flashcards. (ISC)² also offers a training course. Details are available online.


CompTIA Cloud+


The role-based, vendor-neutral CompTIA Cloud+ validates the ability to manage and optimize cloud-based infrastructure services at data centers. Credential holders are equipped to work with cloud technologies from different vendors. This certification is useful for system and network administrators, cloud engineers, cloud specialists, cloud developers and other data center roles.


CompTIA recommends between two and three years of work experience in system administration. You need to pass the 90-minute, 90-question CV0-002 exam with a passing score of 750. It is multiple-choice and performance-based.


Links to CompTIA print and ebooks as well as details of classroom training are available online.


The CompTIA Cloud+ credential is valid for three years from the date of your exam. You may extend your certification by completing specified training and activities, including completing the CertMaster CE or earning at least 50 Continuing Education Units (CEU) in three years.


Other Options


The exams for the in-demand MCSE Cloud Platform and Infrastructure credential were retired on Dec. 31. The Core Infrastructure certification replaced it on Jan. 1. The Microsoft Certification program is now moving toward role-based certifications.


Apart from these, there are a host of other cloud certifications, including sought-after credentials from Google, Dell, Oracle, IBM and other vendors. What is important is to develop in-demand skills and utilize those to help your organization derive valuable business insights from information in the cloud.



Reena Ghosh is an independent ghostwriter who writes promotional, developmental and explanatory content for individuals and businesses. She came to professional writing with work experience in financial services operations and corporate communication. Reena speaks three languages and hopes to learn Sanskrit.