The IT Certification Resource Center

Featured Deal

Get CompTIA, Cisco, or Microsoft training courses free for a week.
Learn More ❯

Certification Watch Volume 10 #9

Certification news regarding two new Sun certifications, unhealthy entry-level and high-level security certification opportunities, and CompTIA certification developments.

New Certifications from Sun

In the past few weeks, there have been several new additions to the Sun Microsystems program. First, the Sun Certified Systems Administrator for Sun Cluster 3.2 Software is expected to hit testing centers this month. It is intended for system administrators who install, support and administer Sun Cluster 3.2. Topics covered include Sun Cluster hardware and software product features, software framework planning and installation, cluster administration, as well as performing, installing, and configuring volume management and applications. There is one exam associated with this designation.

The second new designation is Sun Certified JCAPS Integrator, which is for individuals who wish to demonstrate expertise with JavaCAPS, including knowledge of eGate, eInsight, and eVision. This is also a one exam certification. The full objectives had not been posted as of press time. Sun exams cost $200.

New Entry Level Security Certification

The Security Certified Program (SCP) now has a specialist level that serves as the gateway to the SCP program. The Security Certified Network Specialist (SCNS) is a vendor neutral certification for individuals who wish to demonstrate knowledge of computer and network security. To achieve it you must pass the Tactical Perimeter Defense (TPD) exam ($179). Full objectives can be found on the SCP website.

New High Level Check Point Security Certification Launched

Check Point has added a new certification that is the new top of the Check Point heap as far as skill level goes, the Check Point Certified Master Architect (CCMA). This is for individuals who design, implement, manage, and troubleshoot complex end-to-end Check Point security architectures including perimeter, internal, Web and end-point security solutions. To earn it, you must first achieve CCSA, CCSE, and CCSE+ certification. Then you'll need to first pass the CCMA written exam ($300) and then the hands on lab exam ($1200). Objectives are available at the Check Point website.

CompTIA PDI+ Objectives Available, Launch Date Set

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) has recently published the objectives for its forthcoming printing and document imaging certification (PDI+). The complete blueprint is available as a PDF file (you will have to cough up your email address first). The exam itself is not scheduled for release until January 2008, but if you want to get a head start, now is the time

CompTIA A+ 2003 Retires This Month

The version of CompTIA's A+ certification that is based on the 2003 objectives will retire on June 30, 2007. This is the version that had hardware and software exams. If you are certified under this program, you will remain certified, you just will not have the most current A+ certification available. If you have further questions about your 2003 A+ certification, see the retirement FAQ.

That's all for this edition of Certification Watch. Please keep your certification news and tips coming to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..